Adams Electric Cooperative wins statewide safety award

DECATUR – Adams Electric Cooperative, Camp Point, was one of six co-ops in the state awarded a safety leadership award at the 2017 Association of Illinois Electric Cooperative’s (AIEC) Safety Supervisory Technical Conference held at the Decatur Hotel & Conference Center Jan. 31, and Feb. 1-2. In the past, safety awards were given based on the lowest number of lost time accidents. Based on recommendations from the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA), these awards are now presented more on proactive safety practices that improve the safety culture within the cooperative.

“The award is based on adopting best practices, not just a low number of lost time accidents,” says Jim Miles, Manager of Safety and Loss Control for the AIEC. “The idea is to encourage sharing of near miss incidents, engage all employees and improve the safety culture by rewarding what is being done right; not penalizing when a lost time accident happens. These co-ops were judged to be following those best practices and proactively improving their safety culture.”

Adams Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy — an alliance of 750 local, consumer-owned electric utilities around the country. Adams Electric Cooperative is committed to providing superior service based on four core principles: integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community. The co-op serves more than 8,712 meters over 2,233 miles of line in parts of Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike and Schuyler counties. For more information visit

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment