Students Will Compete For A Trip To Washington, D.C.

Four area high school sophomores or juniors will win an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C., June 13-20, 2014, in an annual contest sponsored by Adams Electric Cooperative and Adams Telephone Co-Operative.

Interested students had to complete a short answer application. After reviewing all applications, judges from the two cooperatives selected 28 applicants to represent the cooperatives at Illinois Electric and Telephone Youth Day in Springfield on April 2.  Fourteen students will represent Adams Electric Cooperative and fourteen students will represent Adams Telephone Co-Operative during a visit to the state capitol, the old capitol building, and the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum.

At the conclusion of Youth Day, judges from the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives will interview the applicants. Two winners will be selected for each cooperative for an eight-day all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C. in June. One alternate will be named for each cooperative in case one of the winners is unable to attend.

The four winners of Youth Day will spend one week in Washington, D.C., visiting places of historical interest, as well as members of Congress, and getting a firsthand view of our government in action. Students will also learn more about the important role cooperatives play in our nation.

Students invited to represent Adams Electric Cooperative and Adams Telephone Co-Operative at the “Illinois Electric & Telephone Cooperative Youth Day” in Springfield are: Shannon Bishop, Evelyn Chapman, Paula Chapman, and Leah Rohrer of Brown County High School,  Keagan Merritt, John Moellring, Jaycie Taylor, and Savannah Wardlaw of Central High School, Connor Klingele and Autumn Lucas of Liberty High School, Noah Brinkman and Trevor Maiers of Payson Seymour High School, Tanner Marshall, Oliver Morrison, and Keaton Schuckman  of Quincy Notre Dame High School, Lauren Cox and Jennifer Nall of Quincy Senior High School, Miranda Taylor of Rushville-Industry High School, Kody Eilers, Jamie Lam, Randallynn Smith, and Jerricko Thomas of Southeastern High School, Camber Flick, Kayla Gronewold, Kylie Hull, Jenny King, and Annika Lewis of Unity High School and Angie Cluff of Warsaw High School. (No applications were received from Griggsville-Perry, Meredosia-Chambersburg, or Quincy Christian Schools.)

This year marks the 55th year of the Youth to Washington program. Adams Electric Cooperative has been sending students to Washington, D.C. since 1959. Adams Telephone joined the program in 2004. Today, approximately 2,000 students from 42 cooperatives across the United States meet at our nation’s capital each summer. The 2014 Youth to Washington winners will be announced in April following Youth Day in Springfield.

For more information about the Youth to Washington program, contact Laura Dotson at Adams Electric Cooperative at 800-232-4797 or Bridgette Northern at Adams Telephone Co-Operative at 877-696-4611.


Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment